Dad Says Hi

Today, my dad reached down from heaven and said hello.

For the past several years, I have frequented a trail near my house. I have gotten to know one of the walkers quite well. We frequently walk together or I stop to say hi on my bike ride or jog. Recently, she told me that she doesn’t drive and never has. She said she has always caught the bus. I told her my dad was a bus driver. She started telling me about a driver she really liked.

She described him, black hair, glasses, named Bob and a really nice guy. She also said he was thin. I wouldn’t have characterized my dad as thin, but who knows. It sure sounded like my dad, but I wasn’t positive. She told me she caught the number #25 bus. I thought my dad had driven that route, but I couldn’t be sure. My mom confirmed it. Sure, he drove that bus. He’d driven lots of routes over the years.

Today, I brought her a picture. She pointed at it. “That’s him, that’s him…”
She said she’d get on the bus with her little kids and he used to flutter the doors a little bit and her kids got the biggest kick out of it.

Then, she told me a story about a developmentally disabled kid. Two other kids, started picking on him. My dad stopped the bus and told the bullies, “That’s not allowed on my bus.”

He proceeded to tell them, the bus wasn’t moving until they got off. Eventually, the kids took the hint. My trail walking buddy, said how much she admired him for that.

I told my mom the story and she remembered it. She said it even made the paper. The kids told their parents and the school that a bus driver kicked them off the bus. They raised a stink, until everyone found out the rest of the story.

It’s funny how God finds little ways to let you know your loved ones are still around and how much they impacted other people’s lives.

About rhondamhall

I am employed full time and am a humor writer & bicycle enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Dadisms, Family, God's Help, Healing, Things My Dad said, Voices From Heaven and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dad Says Hi

  1. Pingback: Dad Says Hi | rhondamhall

  2. Tiffany says:

    that’s wonderful, Rhonda…. how precious. xxx

  3. Tricia Lynne says:

    That is very cool.

  4. Wow, that’s amazing Rhonda. You are so blessed to have had this chance encounter with the past. It sounds like you are also blessed to have been your dad’s daughter. I remember seeing a picture of your dad’s bus you posted on FB page; cool retro style. It’s nice to know that there are little gates to heaven that open every once in a while to give us some reassurance from beyond.

  5. Lyle says:

    Good story, Rhonda.

  6. What a lovely story, Rhonda. We do leave trails behind when we leave the earth..

  7. Laura says:

    What a great story and great legacy.

  8. Ann Stephens says:

    What an inspiring piece of synchronicity!

  9. Laurayne says:

    I only heard the first part of this story and didn’t know she had identified dad as the driver. Thanks for sharing this story about our dad, that we never knew until now. Brought tears to my eyes on confirming what we did know that he was a great guy and is still missed after all these years.

Leave a Reply

