B=Bully *** A to Z Blog Challenge ***

Favorite outfitI was bullied in Junior High. Teachers and parents thought of it in much nicer terms. They called it teasing, or picked on… Parents and teachers thought it was “nice” as well. “Oh, he just likes you.”

Um. No. he doesn’t.

One such Bully tormented me relentlessly. He sat behind me in eighth grade. I shall refer to him as Roberval. Obviously, not his real name. If his name was Roberval, I would have been safe from being tormented and he would have gotten it.

He taunted me mercilessly. I routinely found tacks on my chair. Oh, Roberval and his pranks.

Another kid in my class, Socrates, flunked school. A lot. He celebrated his 16th birthday while the rest of us celebrated our thirteenth birthdays.

When we watched a video, Socrates couldn’t see, because I blocked his view. I sat in the first seat on the third row. He sat in the fourth row, final seat. Socrates always asked me to put my head down. I obliged. After a particularly long video, I finally sat up. To give my back a break, I didn’t move for a while. Finally, I tried to sit forward and couldn’t. My teacher noticed and came to assist. She found a giant blob of gum stuck to the back of my vest. My teacher rightfully pulled out a referral slip to send  to the principal’s office.

The class went ballistic. Some boys argued that Roberval didn’t put the gum on my chair. Maybe, I put the gum on my chair to get Roberval in trouble. Why don’t we have an election?

Thirty-one students. The vote: Fifteen said Roberval did it. Fifteen said I did it. One said Socrates did it.

The teacher excused me to the nurse’s office. That day, I wore my favorite outfit. A blue long-sleeved shirt with a gray vest. This picture is all I have left of the outfit. (By the way, I’m not mad, I think my mom caught me off guard.)

I tried without success to remove the gum. The nurse let me stay there for the rest of the afternoon. I needed to unwind. Elections are painful.

Stay tuned until tomorrow, when I explain how I taught Roberval a lesson.

About rhondamhall

I am employed full time and am a humor writer & bicycle enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to B=Bully *** A to Z Blog Challenge ***

  1. G M Barlean says:

    When I was in 4th grade, every morning when I got off the bus, there was a boy in my class who would chase me from the bus to the school, trying to kick me in the shins. Mrs. Cook said he probably liked me. Love really does hurt! Bullies suck.

  2. rhondamhall says:

    Agreed. When I was in grade school a boy used to run off with my stocking cap everyday. I thought I’d outsmart him and pull it off before he grabbed it. He was moving so fast he didn’t notice and grabbed my hair. That hurt. I think he did say he was sorry.

  3. Visiting on the 2nd day of the #atozchallenge. Nice to find a fellow writer. Hope you find many new blogging friends this month. When these bullying stories appear I’m thankful that the older kids who chased me home one day in grade school was confined to that. If you have time or interest, I am writing about gardening during the month..come visit.

  4. maryjocee says:

    Robert Bore chased us after grade school, trying to hit us with a stick. We squealed, he threatened us again, and that was the end of it. We were never gummed like you. That really hurts, a favorite top set ruined.

    I can’t wait to find out what happened to Roberval.

  5. faithanncolburn says:

    I love junior high revenge stories. I can’t wait. Adults are beginning to take bullying seriously and high time too. Two of my kids got it and it was horrible and humiliating. And I couldn’t do a darned thing about it, although I raised a bunch of hell.

  6. Mary says:

    I am sorry that you had to suffer in that way during your adolescent years. 😦 It breaks my heart to hear of stories of bullying. With today’s increased communication of social media, bullying has reached even higher epidemics. There is no turning it off or getting home to a “safe” place.
    Thank you for sharing your story.

    Mary from the A-to-Z Challenge
    http://www.mary-sky.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

