D = Dad 26 *** Day Blog Challenge ***

D= Dad

My dad had a great sense of humor. He was also a do-it-yourselfer. Why pay someone when you can do it yourself? He and a friend cut down a large dead elm tree. Dad tied a rope around his belly. His friend teased him for the precaution. Dad ignored him and stayed safe. Sure enough, the friend accidentally swung a tree limb down and it hit him and knocked him out of the tree. He fell but tried desperately to hang onto the rope. You can guess the outcome. Rope burns on his hands. He stopped just three feet from the ground. I remember him dangling from the rope. I was pretty young and ran to him. Pointing at him I said, “Daddy’s funny.”

He smiled and said, “Go get your mother.”

Not only did he have rope burns on his hands but also his stomach. Afterwards, he said he finally understood why Tarzan yelled when swinging from tree to tree. “Because that rope hurts!”

About rhondamhall

I am employed full time and am a humor writer & bicycle enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to D = Dad 26 *** Day Blog Challenge ***

  1. I followed the “blog-hop” trail from Angela D. Meyer to Kim Stokely to you.
    Kim was right. You are hilarious! (Writing-wise, of course.)

  2. Your Dad sounds like my Dad, about doing things himself. Or, at least, my Dad used to say that. Then he discovered that it was usually worth the money to hire someone who actually had been trained to do the job right. 🙂 Not all jobs can be done by guess and by golly! Thanks for posting this story. 😀

  3. Kathy Decker says:

    I got caught up on the blogs. This one about Dad was really good. I liked the bop though. Yes you were bullied and from the life of me I never figured out why. I was bullied too. I am sure you handled it much better than I would have, I would have challenged him to choke me and then it would have been on. You made the better choice, I was a hot head in those days. Although I still do not allow for bulling I just deal with it in different ways now.

Leave a Reply

