G = German Shepherd *** A-Z Blog Challenge

G=German shepherd

Second only to car accidents, I have bad luck when it comes to German Shepherds. I’ve been bitten and mauled more times than I care to think about.

I had a small part in a play at the Omaha Community playhouse. The last night, the cast members threw a party. To my dismay, a ferocious German shepherd guarded the front door. This dog wasn’t just large and fierce, he exuded pure evil. Drool would drip down his mouth while he enjoyed tearing me from limb to limb. The dog jumped anxiously back and forth. The entry way, was a small four by four entrance with a wrought iron fence and gate. From what I could see, there was no way around the dog. No back door. You had to walk right up to it. Well, that’s not happening. It seems a strange way to have a party. I’ve often wondered if maybe I had the wrong house, but it didn’t matter, I wasn’t going up there with that science experiment blocking the front entry way.

I’m afraid the dog scared me so bad, that I started saying the Lord’s Prayer. Over and over I repeated it. When I came to, I found myself in the middle of a major intersection. A drunk driver ran a red light. He broadsided me just behind the driver’s seat. The car pushed in eighteen inches. Later, I measured where the impact on my body would have been had he hit the front seat. Right smack in the middle of my body. I’m so glad, I said the Lord’s Prayer that night. If it hadn’t have been for the dog, I probably wouldn’t have. It’s comforting to know, my last thought before a major accident was a prayer.

About rhondamhall

I am employed full time and am a humor writer & bicycle enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

