Halloween *** A-Z Blog Challenge ***

Halloween

Halloween is that special time of year when kids get to dress up and beg candy from strangers. I don’t remember the year, but my mom had told us that we were all getting pretty big and we weren’t going to trick or treat anymore. She gave us one last year. We looked forward to it. We had our costumes picked out and ready to go. Unfortunately, my brother and I got the mumps.

With the exception of the recent outbreak in California, the mumps are practically unheard of. It is highly contagious and could cause a high fever. My brother and I spent the entire day, crying off and on, bemoaning our fate. Oh, the horrors of a tragic childhood!

My sister hadn’t contracted the mumps yet, so she went trick or treating. She happily shared with us. My dad drove a bus for a living and people would give him candy, so he shared with us. It was nice of them, but it wasn’t the same.

When I think back, that Halloween seemed like the absolute worst. Age certainly adds perspective. Twenty years later, my father passed away from cancer. His funeral was held on Halloween day. It was a Saturday. I remember thinking, how many Halloweens we celebrated and never had a clue what a dreadful event would take place on that day.

Since my dad passed away, we’ve gone through many other Halloweens. He would be the first person to say, it’s just a day and he would want us to have fun. And so we do. That’s the best way to remember my dad on any day.

About rhondamhall

I am employed full time and am a humor writer & bicycle enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Halloween *** A-Z Blog Challenge ***

  1. Prem Rao says:

    Nice post, Rhonda. It so interesting that every festival or special occasion stands out in our memories for something we did or that happened to us. Thanks to the A to Z Challenge I am getting to see many new blogs, like yours.

  2. Kathy Cordes says:

    Awesome perspective!

  3. I’m sorry about the mumps and your Dad. You seem to have a great attitude about it all. Thanks for sharing! Happy A-Z!

Leave a Reply

