N = Nebraska Football A – Z Blog Challenge

Nebraskans love football. I do too. I’m glad when we win. I have cousins who live in Iowa and they hate Nebraska football. In fact, they hate Nebraska Football with passion. They say, and I totally understand this, that that’s all they hear about is Husker football.

While attending a large family reunion, we wanted to entertain the little kids. So, we started to play telephone. If you are unfamiliar with the game of telephone, someone whispers something in your ear. You whisper what you heard in another person’s ear, and so forth and so on until it comes full circle. The fun is in how mixed up or crazy it turns out to be. The first person could start out whispering Chocolate Ice Cream and it could end up being Koo Koo Coco puffs.

We sat around a campfire and had played a few rounds. Then, it was my turn to whisper into my little 2nd cousin’s ear. She would broadcast what she heard. Her Dad was a Husker hater. I think Laura was probably about four years old. She was cute as a bug’s ear. Still is in fact. She just graduated from college, so you know it’s been a little while. I whispered in her ear and she announced loud and proud, “Nebraska’s number one!”

Her dad did a jump slash twist maneuver and ejected himself from his lawn chair. In fact, his chair needed adjusting, but he was too disgusted to sit down. He tried to put the chair back in place. “That is not what was said! That is not what was said!” It was a bit like pouring salt on an open wound. Having his sweet little girl utter fighting words, was either pure genius on my part, or pure malicious mischief. I guess it depends on your opinion on Husker football.

I shrugged. “I’m sorry. That’s what it sounded like to me.”

About rhondamhall

I am employed full time and am a humor writer & bicycle enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to N = Nebraska Football A – Z Blog Challenge

  1. He really hates the Huskers, doesn’t he? That was funny and I can see you all around the campfire having a good laugh at his expense. AtoZer http://www.writer-way.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

